Fahrenheit 11/9

We watched Fahrenheit 9/11 to get an idea for different types of documentary, this documentary falls in the comedy section. I believe this due to many reasons, for instance: informal language has been used to make the documentary and the topic somewhat comfortable to talk about. The narrator uses swearing and slangs (etymology) this makes the documentary more interesting and realistic.

It was constructed in a very ingenious way, we already knew that Donald trump was going to be the president. Nevertheless, when I was watching the documentary I forgot what was going to happen (the fact that Donald trump was going to be the president). He creates a juxtaposition (contrast) by using music and tone of voice, when presenting the democrat point of view the music is optimistic, as well as his language in the voice over. Initially the documentary uses clips to create a sense of optimism and to present a favourable point of view (democrats). Conversely, when represent it as a republican’s point of view. The music is ominous and his language shifts into a more abrasive tone.

Overall, I love how this is documentary is contrasted, its very persuasive, and creative. However, I still don’t know what topic I’m going to make my documentary on. But I would like for it to be a bit funny at times, because It just makes it more interesting.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started