Amy Vinehouse

We watched a documentary on Amy Vinehouse, to learn more about her as an individual. Also, to learn why she started having drugs and died. This documentary was very interesting and emotional, and they made it this way in a very interesting way.

They used clips from different media’s to produce this documentary. It really made me feel as if I actually knew Amy as a person. I would love to have this effect in my documentary/ films.

The clips mostly were Vlogs of Amy showing how she was with her friends and family. These clips (vlogs ones) were quite shaky, therefore they were handheld. I also know this as I saw that it was made on a vlogging camera.

There were also drone shots, I noticed how they were only used to show the setting. For example : when they showed England they used a drone shot
and then they showed another drone shot when Amy went to america.

There was also many clips of her concerts and news channels which were used to show what public was thinking about Amy when she was doing drugs.

Another thing I noticed was how they showed as very homely environment which in a way connects the viewers to a family environment, which makes it seem very personal.

Overall, this documentary changed the way I thought about Amy Vinehouse. Additionally, I also learned some facts I never knew before, Amy “Wouldn’t write anything unless it was personal to her”. Other things like “her songs were actually poems”.

I personally really liked how they use the stock footage it made me feel a connection with Amy Vinehouse. After watching this, I would like to have an emotional (not sad) documentary too. I felt as if this documentary left me with a lot to think about which was obviously the main aim.

After some research I have decided that I would like to have a more visual based documentary.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started